Thursday, May 07, 2009

Winners of technical awards of IIFA Awards 2009

The International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) today announced the winners of the technical awards categories for the 'IIFA Awards 2009'. Jodhaa Akbar walked away with 5 awards followed by Ghajini which won 3 out of a total of 14 awards announced today. The winners will be presented their trophies on the night of the 'IIFA Awards' that will be held on June 13, 2009 at the Cotai Arena, The Venetian- Macau.

List of Winners in the technical awards category of IIFA Awards 2009

Best Background Score
A. R. Rahman (Jodhaa Akbar)

Best Costume Design
Neeta Lulla (Jodhaa Akbar)

Best Editing
Ballu Saluja (Jodhaa Akbar)

Best Action
Peter Heins and Stun Siva (Ghajini)

Best Sound Recording
Resul Pookutty and Amrit (Ghajini)

Best Visual / Special Effects
Prime Focus (Ghajini)

Best Art Direction
Nitin Chandrakant Desai (Jodhaa Akbar)

Best Make-up
Madhav Kadam (Jodhaa Akbar)

Best Cinematography
Jason West (Rock On)

Best Song Recording
Purple Haze (Rock On)

Best Choreography
Farah Khan - 'Desi Girl'- (Dostana)

Best Sound Re-recording
Leslie Fernandes (Race)

Best Dialogue
Manu Rishi (Oye Lucky Lucky Oye)

Best Screenplay
Neeraj Pandey (A Wednesday)

The winners for the 'IIFA Awards 2009' were chosen based on an industry voting in March. Results of the industry voting were audited by Price Waterhouse Coopers (PWC), the auditing firm for the IIFAs and the Oscars.

The nominations for the popular categories of 'IIFA Awards 2009' have gone online on and will be open till the end of May 2009. Indian Cinema fans worldwide are expected to vote for who they deem to be the best of 2008. The votes from the online voting will be tallied by PWC and will only be announced on the night of the 'IIFA Awards 2009' at the CotaiArena, The Venetian Macau-Resort-Hotel.


Post a Comment